Sony World Photography Awards 2025

by on
Sony World Photography Awards 2025

Sony World Photography Awards 2025 is now open for entries!

Sony World Photography Awards 2025: The Sony World Photography Awards 2025, one of the most celebrated and diverse photography competitions in the world, now is open for entries inviting all professional, amateur, youth and student photographers to partecipate.

Short description

The Sony World Photography Awards, one of the most celebrated and diverse photography competitions in the world now is in its 18th year and like every year has aim to showcase the best contemporary photography worldwide.

The awards offer an unparalleled opportunity for exposure for photographers at all stages of their career and are known worldwide by industry leaders.

With its unparalleled reach, the Sony World Photography Awards elevate the careers of photographers to the next level. Since the beginning, the Awards have championed inclusivity and access by being free to enter. Acting as an insight into photography today in all its diversity, the Awards spotlights photographers telling the stories of our time.

Participants can submit their photos across various genres including Architecture, Landscape, Portraiture, Still Life, and Wildlife & Nature, reflecting the broad spectrum of styles and themes within the field of photography.

There are four competitions:

Professional: All entrants must be over 18. Photographers must submit a series of 5 to 10 images per category (12 January 2024).
Open: The competition is open to anyone. The Open competition rewards outstanding single images across ten categories (5 January 2024).
Youth: The competition is open to young photographers under 19 year-olds. Photographers can enter up to 3 images relating to the theme ‘Through Your Eyes’ (5 January 2024).
Student: The competition is open to all students of photography from World Photography Organisation’s selected Universities. Students are required to submit 5 - 10 images responding to a brief (30 November 2023).

The 2025 edition has introduced a new category in the Professional competition called "Perspectives," encouraging photographers to tell stories using a mix of formats and genres. Each category is judged by a panel of esteemed experts from the photography industry, ensuring that the evaluation process maintains high standards and integrity.

Who may enter?

This competition is open to all levels of photographer, from emerging 12-19-year-olds, enthusiastic hobbyists, and students, to established professionals from across the world.


Winners of the Sony World Photography Awards 2025 will receive significant recognition and rewards. The overall Photographer of the Year in the professional competition will receive a cash prize of $25,000, along with top Sony digital imaging equipment and a solo exhibition. Winners in the Open competition will receive $5,000 and Sony digital imaging equipment. Winners’ works are displayed in a high-profile exhibition in London and published in a globally distributed book. Additionally, all winners gain global exposure through various promotional activities, publications, and exhibitions organized by the World Photography Organisation, enhancing their professional visibility and career opportunities.

More Competitions: